RenderImage.aspx432080630016_Red_Sox_v_Rays

Martin, 27, reached across the stadium’s railing and twice grabbed Raymond by the neck, officers said. Martin was staggering, slurring his words and smelled of alcohol, according to an arrest affidavit. Raymond pushed back and broke free, police said.

Martin, who told officers he drank two beers during the game, faces a misdemeanor charge of disorderly intoxication. The “victim within the mascot suit” declined to press battery charges, police said. Martin was released from Pinellas County Jail early Wednesday on $100 bail. -Tampa Bay Times

A Red Sox fan being a drunk asshole during the course of a game? Say it ain’t so, say it ain’t so! I would have never guessed it would have been a Boston fan that would have done this, no way. Color me surprised.

—-

I love the guys old “I had 2 beers” line. Classic. I’m pretty sure 2 beers it the ubiquitous number when it comes to telling cops how many beers you have had that night. Like ever watch Cops? “I’ve only had a couple beers tonight officer” is the most used line ever.

P.S. I think during every Boston vs Tampa Bay sporting event, mascots should be shunned from the games, because clearly Boston fans and Tampa’s mascots do not get along, not one bit:

-Gonzo

